Staying Sane and Stress Survival

tumblr_n9gcvjQoj91rx771wo1_1280

We all go through stressful times in our lives. Usually, exams are a blast for me (‘study’ periods, time off school, waking up late and having to focus for only a few hours :’) ), however this time around, that hasn’t been the case. I can’t quite describe why, but I’ve been swaying back and forth across the border between “life is great” and “what’s the point in anything” for a while now. I guess it’s mix of everything, newly frequent dance classes, real exams that mean [very little but still] something, a quest to constantly be constructive and productive, and a very foggy, hormonal, not-yet-developed teenage brain.
I wouldn’t describe this situation as feeling like chaos, or a cliché whirlwind. Instead, it feels more like a wasteland. Like piles of faded-brown scraps and debris littered across a desert, as far as the eye can see; and your job is to pick up each piece of rusted metal, every last sundried magazine clipping. It feels like life is one big task that seems so impossible, filled with thousands and thousands of little things we must do… Yeah, the teenage heart ain’t fond of responsibility.

Despite it all (oh, this difficult first world teenage life we live), we push through; and here are somethings that have been keeping sane/happy/alive:

Eating healthy. I’m a stress eater, and in times of stress, the last thing I need is to fall sick (although it does give you time to step back and balance rest and concentrated work). Ironically, I got a bad sore throat last week from eating too many cashews and almonds, but you get what I mean, balanced meals guys balanced meals.

Exercise. I’ve just started dancing every night, which sounds like the last thing I would have wanted (more classes? more busy? late nights?), but I come out of every single dance class happier, my head clearer, and life seems a bit less dull. If you don’t play a sport, go to the gym with a friend! I’ve been doing this on weekends with a friend of mine who lives close (using my condo’s gym)- it makes it more fun and you’ll have more motivation. Plus, there’s nothing like an anger-releasing run.

Sleep! This is my all encompassing downfall. For example, last night I got home from dance at 11:00. I then decided to stay up for another hour and a half. Needless to say, I was half asleep in today’s morning exam.

Doing something productive that you love. Whether its reading, cooking, or making music [or writing a blog post, taking photos, or drawing], there’s always something productive you could be doing if you don’ t feel like school work. Remember that your life isn’t controlled by school, no matter how important exams, homework and study seem. Be grateful and make the most of your education, but remember that being productive isn’t limited to finishing your homework, and there’s no excuse as to why you can’t start working towards what you want to do in the future right now.

Photospiration! (click to enlarge)

I’ve been trying to write this post for a while, at first I hoped to make a separate post on each, but after such a long intro I though ahhjustfuckit (though I will undoubtedly be elaborating on each in future posts!). Let me know how you guys usually deal with stress, and what reminds you that it really isn’t worth stressing over ><

Much love, God bless, and all the best in all that you do!
-Fush

[No photos in this post are mine; stolen from Pinterest + Tumblr]

Leave a Reply

